Carbone Scol'ERE

Carbone Scol'ERE

CRE de Laval is one the training organizations accredited by COOP FA, which is at the origin of Carbone Scol’ERE, a carbon exchange program. Our agents visit Laval's primary classes of grade 4, 5 and 6 to provide climate change and carbon management workshops.

 

There are five workshops per participating class. During these, students are made aware of the greenhouse effect and climate change, as well as the impact of transport and the making of everyday items, the use of energy ; lastly, they are invited to raise awareness in their immediate environment (friends and family).

 

With this commitment, CRE de Laval sure hopes that these cohorts of future decision makers will put their knowledge to good use - that is, the responsible development of our societies.

 

Agreement with caisses Desjardins

 

An agreement recently concluded with caisses Desjardins of Laval allows us to deploy the Carbone Scol'ERE project in 10 additional classes for the winter of 2021! The total number of participating classes is therefore 15 - meaning that about 400 students of Laval get the opportunity to benefit from the workshops thanks to our awareness-raising agents.

 

The financial commitment of caisses Desjardins adds to Ville de Laval's financial support for this innovating project in environmental education. If you wish to participate and help expand the scope of this initiative, you can buy educational carbon credits that will be generated through the involvement and actions of our school kids.

 

About the program...

 

The Carbone Scol'ERE carbon exchange program is the very first alternative of greenhouse gases emissions offsetting recognized by an advisory committee led by the CRIQ (Centre de recherche industrielle du Québec). The program aims to encourage genuine, measurable, verifiable and cumulative behaviour changes. It offers two options : 

  1. Reduce greenhouse gas emissions by challenging students and their families following a 10-hours training session made of workshops (''I pledge myself'' component) ; 

  2. Compensate greenhouse gas emissions through the purchase of educative carbon credits produced by avoided emissions in the I pledge myself component. This is a unique, quantified and scientifically verified compensation unit (''I compensate'' component).

Carbone Scol'ERE

Carbone Scol'ERE

Le CRE de Laval fait partie des organismes de formation accrédités par la COOP FA, qui est à l’origine du projet Carbone Scol’ERE. Nos agents parcourent donc les classes de 4e, 5e et 6e année du primaire à Laval pour y animer des ateliers portant sur la gestion du carbone et les changements climatiques.

 

À raison de 5 ateliers par classe participante, les élèves se voient sensibilisés non seulement à l’effet de serre et aux changements climatiques, mais également à l’impact des transports et de la fabrication des objets de la vie courante, à l’utilisation de l’énergie, et à leur capacité à eux-mêmes sensibiliser leur entourage.

 

Par son engagement, le CRE espère que ces cohortes de futurs décideurs pourront mettre à profit leurs connaissances acquises au service du développement responsable de nos sociétés.

 

Entente avec les caisses Desjardins

 

Une entente récemment conclue avec les caisses Desjardins de Laval permettra de déployer le projet Carbone Scol’ERE dans 10 classes supplémentaires pour l’hiver 2021! Portant leur nombre à 15 classes, ce sont donc près de 400 élèves lavallois qui se verront offrir des ateliers en classe par nos agents de sensibilisation au retour des Fêtes.

 

L’engagement des caisses Desjardins s’ajoute donc à celui de la Ville de Laval pour financer ce projet novateur d’éducation relative à l’environnement. Vous souhaiteriez aussi contribuer? Aidez-nous à étendre le projet à plus d’écoles en achetant les Crédits carbone éducatifs qui seront générés par les élèves qui relèveront leurs défis et compenseront ainsi une partie de leurs émissions de GES.

 

Une nouvelle formule d’animation permet à nos agents de rencontrer les élèves lavallois tant en personne qu’en mode virtuel, en fonction des différentes mesures sanitaires en place dans chaque région et dans chaque école.

 

À propos...

 

Carbone Scol'ERE est la première alternative de compensation des émissions de GES en éducation reconnue par un comité-conseil piloté par le CRIQ. Elle vise à engendrer de vrais changements de comportements, mesurables, vérifiables et cumulatifs. Elle offre deux options :

1. Réduire les émissions de GES par la prise de défis des élèves et leur famille suite à une formation de 10 heures sous forme d’ateliers en classe (volet Je m'engage);

2. Compenser les émissions de GES par l’achat de Crédits carbone éducatifs produits par les GES évités du volet Je m’engage. Une unité de compensation unique, quantifiée et vérifiée scientifiquement (volet Je compense).